Friday, 28 December 2012

10 Downing Street, Hyderabad



We were on the final day of our holiday at Hyderabad and after lazing around in the morning we drove down to 10 Downing Street for lunch. The plan to visit this resto-pub for lunch on a Sunday had always been on our radar since the time we decided upon going to Hyderabad. 10 Downing Street is a resto-pub/night club with its footprints spread across 10 cities of India. Does the expansion stop at the number 10? I hope not..

Menu:
Sundays at 10 Downing Street are special. They have a special a la carte brunch menu which includes Indian, chinese, Italian and continental classics. What makes it special is what it has to offers – every main course dish ordered comes paired with a beverage of our choice and is also followed by a dessert of the day. Of course; the beverage selection offered as a part of this brunch combo is limited to a select few alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

What we ate:
My wife and I having arrived there early decided to get started with a drink. As we waited for the rest of the group to arrive, my wife sipped Cherry Martini and I settled for a pint of beer. 

Not too long later, the rest of our group arrived and with the order placed; we were on our way to a culinary feast. Drinks were served on our table. We sipped our drinks while conversing rather planning about where and when our next trip would be. 

‘Kung Pao vegetables with shezwan rice’ was the first to arrive; with the rest following in quick successions. The Kung Pao vegetables was delicious and was all cleaned up with the accompanying shezwan fried rice. 

The next two preferred dishes were Chinese too. One was shredded chicken in hot garlic sauce and the other was chicken in Hunan sauce with veg. fried rice and butter garlic noodles respectively. Both of these dishes tasted good.
Shredded Chicken in hot garlic sauce served with veg. fried rice
Chicken in Hunan sauce served with butter garlic noodles

Moving on from Chinese, we had fish & chips on our table. Fried fillets of fish came along with a slice of toasted garlic bread, tartar sauce, boiled vegetables and potato wedges. The fish tasted fresh and the batter coating on the fish was nice and crisp. 

Next arrived, a chicken steak drowned in mushroom sauce and garlic bread and boiled veggies on the side. The sauce was nice and flavorful and the chicken was succulent and tender. The bread was just toasted and had no hint of garlic flavor while the boiled veggies were fine.

The vegetarians on our table also called for an Italian dish, the name of which I do not seem to recollect. I did not try this either but the buzz on our table was this dish tasted heavenly. Heavenly; is what it seemed, going by the pace with which this dish was all cleaned up.

In desserts we were served a scoop of vanilla/strawberry ice cream each.

Verdict:
On the service front, there were both strengths and weak links visible. Their strength was in quick service. In spite of being full house, our order was brought to our table in about 15 minutes. The food was served hot and fresh. The biggest disappointment for us on the service front was being serving an incorrect dish in the name of another; yet not accepting this mistake. 

10 Downing Street had a nice ambiance, plush interiors, and lots of polished wood; giving its patrons a feel of an English pub. The bar counter looked elegant. There was a good mix of crowd which included groups of friends, families, couples and business associates. In all, we had a good time listening to some good English numbers, sipping the well made drinks and not going by authenticity, the good food that’s for sure to leave you satisfied. I definitely look forward to coming back here when in town again; not just for Sunday brunch but also for their weekend night events. 

Though located in a shopping complex, the restaurant provides for valet parking which can be availed by driving up to the valet counter placed by 10 Downing Street. 

We ate all this and paid just a little less than Rs. 2000 which is a steal for a place like 10 Downing Street. Bangalore... Take Note..

Address: 10, Ground Floor, My Home Tycoon, Lifestyle Building, Begumpet, Hyderabad
Phone Number: 040 - 66629323


Thursday, 20 December 2012

Copper Chimney, Bangalore



Right across our office campus, Copper Chimney - now a restaurant chain; launched another outlet on 15th August on the first floor of In Orbit mall. Having been present in Bangalore for close to a decade or may be more, Copper Chimney has won many patrons and is acknowledged for its North Indian /Punjabi food. Given its proximity from my office, 9 foodies (all colleagues) headed there for a lunch buffet. 

Menu:
Copper Chimney mainly specializes in the food specialties of the northern part of India. Having decided to go in for their weekday lunch buffet, my focus in this review will revolve around the menu set for the lunch buffet. The spread was vast and comprised of vegetarian and non – vegetarian fare. It included a soup counter, a live chaat counter, a salad counter; a counter with a vast spread including starters and main course and no points for guessing, a dessert counter was included in the lunch buffet.

What we ate:
This might be the first time, I am writing down a food review as a vegetarian. The views on the non – vegetarian fare come from other foodies who like me love food and are passionate about the food they eat.

Soup of the day was tomato-coriander shorba. The soup tasted good and I must say the coriander flavor didn’t go unnoticed. The salad counter had a good spread of garden fresh vegetables, Russian salad, and more. This clearly for us was not a point of focus. 

I have always been amazed at this special attention chaat gets from the women folks (atleast in my set of female friends and relatives). It was no different here at Copper Chimney where the live chaat counter was quite popular among the women. Patrons could choose from multiple options like paani poori, dahi paapdi, sev puri etc. We tried the dahi paapdi and paani poori and both were quite nice. 

For the starters, there were 2 vegetarian and 2 non – vegetarian options. The vegetarian had tandoori gobi and aloo something while the non – vegetarians had murg sheek kabab and fish tikka. Between fish tikka and murgh sheek kabab, fish tikka was a clear winner on our table with chicken sheek kabab’s lack of sufficient flavoring cost it some points. On the vegetarian side; tandoori gobi was really nice but the potato starter was just about average. 

In main course, vegetarian food was a big disappointment with most of the items heading too far from good taste. The paneer makhanwala, mix vegetable and corn something were a disappointment. Paneer gravy seemed to be diluted with water while the corn had a prominent sour taste coming from tomatoes. On the other hand, a bitter gourd veggie and dal makhni were really nice.

Non – vegetarians too had mixed reviews with the chicken and fish dishes in main course. Chicken was well appreciated but the fish failed to win hearts. The restaurant served assorted Indian breads that were made to order and served hot on the table. On this day, there was a mutton keema biryani which failed to impress the biryani lovers.

Desserts included fresh fruits, a pastry, 2 Indian sweets and vanilla ice cream. Though the deserts tasted fine the variety on offer was a letdown.

Verdict:
We visited this restaurant in less than a fortnight of its opening and were unhappy with the service and hospitality. Considering that we were going on a Friday lunch; advance reservation was made by us. Having arrived there on time, in a few minutes as we waited to get our table we could see that the restaurant was not ready for the kind of foot fall it was receiving.  This view only got stronger when we experienced long waits for the plates to arrive at the buffet counter, missing spoons and forks, empty or nearly empty food containers. However, my prior visits to other outlets of Copper Chimney usually for a-la carte dinners have been quite nice.

No valet parking available as Copper Chimney is a part of In Orbit mall. 

The buffet at about Rs. 390 plus taxes and other charges is definitely one of the more economical buffets on offer in Whitefield but is still over priced for the quality of food served and also the variety on offer. 

Quick Tips:
The buffet is disappointing. Lunches are usually crowded for buffets; I’d recommend going to Copper Chimney go for a-la Carte dinners instead.

Address: 1st Floor, In Orbit Mall, EPIP Industrial Area, Whitefield , Bangalore - 560066
Phone Number: 080 - 28029600


Thursday, 6 December 2012

Teppan, Bangalore



‘Teppan’ happens to be the most recent offering from Oriental Cuisines Pvt. Ltd to Bangalore’s food scene. It is a Japanese restaurant specializing in serving food off the Teppanyaki grill. With just a couple of other Japanese restaurants in Bangalore, Teppan has been on my list of restaurants to visit since its launch in Bangalore which is not quite long ago. Who knew; my visit to this restaurant would be by invitation from Burrp who had organized a chef’s table dinner at ‘Teppan’. Having reached a little in advance (as intended), I was able to capture the beautiful table setting around the Teppanyaki grill which instantly succeeded in setting the mood for the rest of the evening. 

Menu:
It was not long before the rest of the diners arrived and Teppan set the ball rolling with an introduction to the menu cards. Specifically made for this dinner were 2 leaflets rolled up, tied with ribbons and placed before us. Yellow ribbon was the vegetarian menu listing the 5 courses that would be served and red ribbon listed the 5 course meal designed for the non-vegetarians. We were 9 diners seated around the Teppanyaki counter and un/fortunately not one of us opted for a vegetarian meal. On second thoughts, it is hard to imagine vegetarian; rather only vegetarian food in Japanese cuisine. 

What we ate:
Our 5 course meal began with a welcome drink which was an orange and pineapple based mocktail. It was nice and quite refreshing. As we sipped through our drink and indulged in a conversation with each other; our first course arrived and Tori salad it was. This salad was made with finely shredded chicken, iceberg lettuce, Miso – Mayo dressing and a topping off crushed tempura batter. The salad got its creaminess and mild flavoring from the Miso-Mayo dressing and the freshness and crunchiness coming from both the lettuce and the tempura batter. Must say, we started off on a good note and only looked forward for more that was to come.

The next to arrive were starters, Yaki Tori – Grilled Chicken on skewers and soon followed by sushi. Yaki Tori coming off the grill was served hot, well cooked and flavorful with sweetness hitting the palate first followed by the mild flavoring from soy sauce and other seasonings. This dish had a wonderful glaze and was very easy on the palate.

The other starter was sushi - Tuna Buttera Maki – layers of sushi, sea weed and Tuna fish. This came along with soy sauce, wasabi and pickled ginger on the side. Before digging into the sushi; wasabi was further broken down into really small pieces and mixed with the soy sauce. Caution! Wasabi gives a very strong flavor. Use desired amounts that suit your palate. Now that I was all set; without wasting any time, I devoured the bite sized pieces by dipping it in the wasabi-soy sauce mixture. To a lot of people; eating sushi might seem like an adventure – an adventure of supposedly eating raw sea food. It is exactly how I felt when I tried Sushi for the first time and took a couple of attempts to be really adapted to the taste. 

In time for the main course, we were joined by Chef June who stood behind the teppanyaki grill and sharpened his knife as he introduced himself. “Hello everyone, you know the month that comes before July? Exactly, June – that’s my name.” Our main course included assorted grilled veggies in oriental sauce, sea bass fish, chicken teriyaki and chicken and egg fried rice. This was also the order in which Chef June prepared the dishes live and served it piping hot right off the teppanyaki grill.

As we were served grilled veggies in oriental sauce, Miso soup arrived. Yes, apparently the soup was served along with the main course. It for sure was not meant to be this way. Miso soup; had a strong flavor of soy beans and it personally did not appeal to me, I have never been able to build a taste soya beans in particular. Apparently, it did not appeal to anyone on our table.  Assorted grilled veggies in oriental sauce were just fine but didn’t excite my taste bud. 

I’d heard Japanese cooking methods are very different from most other cuisines in terms of marinating the meats. At this dinner, I got to see it for myself; thanks to Teppanyaki – Japanese style of live cooking. While in most other cuisines, the meat is marinated both before and/or while cooking. Here, the meat was almost cooked and then married with the sauces and seasoning before being allowed to cook a little further. 

That’s exactly how the sea bass and Chicken Teriyaki were prepared. Sea bass was pan fried in a mixture of soy sauce, mirin, cooking sake, lemon-butter-garlic sauce and seasoning while chicken Teriyaki involved the use of Soy sauce, mirin and sugar as some of the ingredients. Sea bass was too pungent in flavor due to an overdose of soy sauce. This not only made the dish pungent but also killed the flavor of the sea bass and made the dish taste too salty. If I had to describe this dish in the words of Chef June, it would be - ‘A Japanese Mistake’.

Chicken Teriyaki had a very mild sweet flavor. The dish had the right balance of flavors with a nice glaze of the sauce on the chicken. After serving this, Chef June got busy entertaining us with his cooking maneuvers in the process of getting the Chicken and egg fried rice ready for us. This was prepared with sticky rice and was downed to the last morsel in the company of chicken Teriyaki.

Green tea was served towards the end of our main course and soon followed by desserts. Desserts included fruit tart, vanilla ice cream and brownie. None of these were Japanese desserts. A Japanese touch could have been introduced by just serving a green tea or wasabi flavored ice cream instead of the vanilla flavor. In all, this final course was a disappointment for the lack of authenticity.

Verdict:
Chef’s cooking maneuvers were a treat to the eyes. Right from the fire flare to start with to the pumping heart beat made from chicken fried rice to finish. In between filled with juggling acts with eggs, cracking it in the air with a knife, drawing a heart on the Teppanyaki, painting it yellow with the egg yolks to connecting with the diners by writing the name of one of the diners with the egg.  The service was otherwise fine. Feedback on the food was warranted and well received by both the chef and the restaurant management. 

Japanese cuisine as a whole is very mild in its flavoring and this comes from the use of soy sauce, cooking sake or mirin. The food does not really involve the use of spices and can taste bland at most instances. Given this, I must say my dining experience was a mixed bag for; miso soup was personally something I did not like due to my non-preference for soya beans while the sea bass fish was a misbalance in flavoring due to excessive use of soy sauce. The desserts were just quite ordinary and lacked authenticity. Apart from this, the salad, yaki tori, chicken teriyaki and chicken and egg fried rice were quite nice but for me; it was sushi that stole the show. 

In all, in spite of its own hits and misses, I had a good time devouring the Japanese fare and I definitely recommend this Japanese restaurant. 

Quick Tips:
Do not get too experimental with Japanese food the very first time. I recommend you try out some standard fare like yaki tori, tempura prawns, chicken teriyaki, fried rice,  or noodles (udon) to name a few. 

Japanese cuisine as a whole is very mild in its flavoring and this comes from the use of soy sauce, cooking sake or mirin. Most of the times, one tends to gradually develop a taste for Japanese food. 

Sushi refers to a form of vinegar rice. Sushi is not all about raw fish. In fact, raw fish is an ingredient only in certain types of sushi.

Teppan serves both a la carte and set menus. A la carte can be enjoyed at regular tables while, set menus are usually served around the teppanyaki grill.

Go for: Authentic Japanese food, a teppanyaki experience, sushi and sashimi.

Address: 3rd Floor, 1/3, Ulsoor Road, Bangalore
Phone Number: 080 - 32569029


Thursday, 29 November 2012

Chutney's, Secunderabad



En route Hyderabad (technically Secunderabad) for a weekend, we sat chatting in the bus about what we planned to do on this weekend holiday. While we planned to visit Ramoji Film city, watch (again) ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ on IMAX screen, party and just have fun; we could not miss talking about the food we’d eat. Given we were visiting Hyderabad, biryani was the most sought after dish among us. Keeping this for lunch or dinner, we decided to head to Chutney’s a fine dine restaurant in the breakfast space.

Menu:
The menu comprised south Indian classics like idli, dosa and uttapam varieties, vada etc and Andra specialties like Guntur idli for breakfast. For lunch and dinner; the restaurant served the regular Indian and Indo-Chinese fare. 

What we ate:
Not certain if they take reservations, we landed up at Chutney’s only to realize that we’d have to wait a bit to be seated on a table. During this wait, we looked up the menu for options and were set to order on being seated. A couple of portions of Guntur idli, vada - sambar, pongal and masala dosa it was. And Sudoku begins…. Yes, as we waited for the food to arrive, most of us tried to solve the Sudoku puzzle on the table, while I sat trying my hand at photography.

Engrossed in Sudoku, we were delighted to receive the first arrival on our table; Chutneys - 4 different types of them. Starting with the top right and going clockwise is (1) regular coconut chutney (2) Peanut chutney (3) my personal favorite – Coconut milk chutney and (4) onion, red chilli and ginger - garlic chutney.

Soon to follow was portions of Guntur idli. This was steamed rice idli topped with loads of ghee and red Guntur powder. The accompaniments to this were piping hot sambar and the variety of chutneys served. The Guntur idlis were flavorful and tasted exceptionally good with the sweet coconut milk chutney, peanut chutney and sambar.

Pongal came along with onion raita. The flavor was subtle. Thought it tasted well with the raita, my recommended accompaniment for would be sambar.

While pongal was being downed, we were distracted with the arrival of vada dipped in a bowl of hot sambar. Without wasting any time; the bowl was cleared. While the vada was good, it was the sambar that drew our attention. The flavor is so addictive with the sweetness to hit the palate initially and then the spice.

We finished with masala dosa followed by hot coffee. The dosa was of a  golden brown consistency. It was very light and crisp.  The coffee was typical south Indian filter coffee; packed with flavor and best sipped when served hot.


Verdict:
The service we received; from the time we were asked to wait for a table to be readied right up to the time we paid the bill and left the restaurant was fabulous. The staff was attentive, polite, and friendly. They ensured that the food served and any refills of sambar requested was served hot. As for the food, with no second thoughts; I can say that Chutney’s has been consistent at serving great food and delighting its patrons.

Difficult to find parking on Sardar Patel road; we were happy to be received by the valet parking staff. 

A breakfast here at Chutney’s costs an average of Rs. 200 to Rs. 300 for two and is worth every rupee spent.

Quick Tips:
Go here for a relaxed breakfast and you are sure to have a great start to your day.

Do not miss trying the guntur Idli, the variety of chutney’s served here and not to forget the vada – sambar.


Address: 1-8-303/ 48/ 3 Main Road, S P Road, Secunderabad
Phone Number: 040 - 66908484


Friday, 23 November 2012

Coastal Junction, Bangalore


It was a pleasant Saturday a couple of month ago when my stomach craved from some good seafood while my heart wished for a restaurant with open seating to enjoy the lovely weather. With an aim to satisfy both my stomach and heart, I decide to head to Coastal Junction a roof top restaurant on 80FT Road, Indiranagar. The restaurant is located on the 5th floor of the building and is run by the owner of the building himself. This restaurant is lit by natural light of the sun during the day giving it a very fresh and natural feeling. The tables are well distanced and the bar at the entrance is well set up adding to the ambience of the restaurant. Coastal Junction happens one of the few fine dining restaurants in the Coastal Cuisine segment in Bangalore.

Menu:
The word coastal tends to bring in an imagination or thought that the food would be mainly sea food fare with the menu holding limited variety for the vegetarians and the non vegetarian. While the menu does comprise of sea food, the restaurant focuses on the cuisine around the coastal belt of our country. Thus, having a lot to offer in vegetarian and non-vegetarian food which includes other meats as well. 

What we ate:
Being a lover of non-vegetarian food, my visit to Coastal Junction comprised of just sea food (read: fish) and Chicken with accompaniments. For the starters, I called for Fish Masala Fry and Meen Pollichathu. While the starters arrived, I was served some complimentary fried papadums with I guess a chutney and a pickle and a hot glass of rasam. While I sipped the hot rasam which was really flavorful and spiciness for perfect to my linking, I chose not to eat the papadums since I awaited the fish starters to arrive.

The first starter to arrive on my table was Fish Masala Fry which was one big piece of seer fish covered with a red spicy coating and curry leaves. The mere sight of this was an absolute delight. Before digging into it, I added a dash of lime for I like the freshness and tanginess that lime brings in to food especially if it is on the spicier side. The fish was fresh and well marinated with spices. The curry leaves brought in this wonderful flavor and combined well with the spices.
Fish Masala Fry

The next starter was a fish fillet that arrived wrapped in a banana leaf. Yes, it was Meen Pollichathu. The banana leaf was unwrapped and there it was a pomfret coated with spices waiting to be devoured. The fish was fresh, cooked just right to break easily and was good to taste. With the arrival of this dish, it was certain that the portions at Coastal Junction are big.
Left: Fish wrapped in leaf; Right: leaf unwrapped (Meen Pollichathu)

So ‘fish’ it was for the starters…

Moving on to the main course, I called for Chicken Coondapur and Chicken Varutharacha Curry and a couple of appams to go with it. The former was a coconut based semi-dry chicken with its roots from Coondapur/Kundapura a town in the Udupi district of Karnataka and the latter originates from the Malabar region of Kerala. While Coondapur is a grounded coconut based dish, varutharacha curry is roasted coconut based gravy. Both the dishes were good to taste, however, the chicken Coondapur famous for the flavor and content of ghee lacked any trace of it. To make a preferential comparison, Chicken Varutharacha Curry was a bigger hit with me. The appams were made fresh and served from a counter that was placed in one corner of the dining area.
Clockwise – Starting from left: Meen Pollichathu, Chicken Coondapur and Chicken Varutharacha Curry

I have also tried Chicken Sukka, fish fry for starters and Crab masala for the main course during my previous visit with a group of friends. The portions are good and tasty. The crab was meaty and fresh giving a very good flavor. Unfortunately, there are no pictures available of these dishes.

Verdict:
It was good to have a chat with the restaurant manager whose motto was to ensure a pleasant dining experience for every customer.  This belief runs down from the owner of the restaurant who drives the culture of ensuring customer satisfaction. This was also very clear from the actions and the body language of the staff. They were attentive and prompt in their service. 

The food was very good and definitely a restaurant I'd love to visit again and again for delicious coastal fare. I have been to Coastal Junction twice and can now claim that they have been consistent in food quality, taste and service.

A special mention of the restaurant manager who noticing that I am alone offered to provide half portions of starters thus; giving me a chance to sample and devour 2 varieties in starters as well as main course instead of the just 1 portion of starter and main course I would have been able to eat. For those wondering how I could eat 2 portions of starters and 2 portions of main course alone, here comes out the secret of my appetite – All portions were served as halves.

The tab for the food I ate came to about Rs. 650 with a glass of coke which is fair enough considering good quality sea food is served here and is one of the few restaurants in this cuisine to provide a fine dining option. 

Quick Tips:
Go: for a relaxed fine dine experience, great coastal cuisine.
Don’t go: if you do not prefer coastal cuisine.

Address: 80 Feet Road, Near BSNL office, Indiranagar, Bangalore

Disclaimer: Coastal Junction restaurant is temporarily shut down. Its management plans to relaunch this brand in a bigger way sometime during the 1st quarter of 2013 with 2 new locations – One in 100 FT Road, Indiranagar and another in JP Nagar.


Sunday, 18 November 2012

Willy Vanilli, Bangalore


Quite often we friends tend to hang out in Koramangla for the fact that – one; a common meeting point is a friends restaurant, two; a couple of us love the momos served on the street side there and three, we love the burgers and sandwiches at Willy Vanilli (WV). This is exactly how we land up at Willy Vanilli every time. Multiple attempts have been made by us to skip rest of the places and head straight to WV. All I can say yet is, “We need to make a couple of attempts more.” WV can be classified as a cafe with simple yet nice interiors. The cafe has both indoor and outdoor seating.

Menu:
The menu mainly comprises a vast section of burgers and sandwiches. To give them company are a few continental items like stroganoff, quiche, waffles and some beverages like coffee, canned juices etc. There is a good range of selection available for both vegetarians and non vegetarians and are easily identifiable based on the color indicators.

What we ate:
My quest for good burgers in Bangalore brought WV into my radar of places to visit. This drive not only compelled me to try out the burgers here but also rest of my friends who have dined with me at WV. While the ultimate burger I’d like to devour is WV’s Gourmet burger, I must say, “This is yet to happen.” The only way to allow this to happen will be avoiding visit to the street stalls serving momos.

Burgers to have visited us are classic veggie burger, classic chicken burger and cottage cheese burger. Apart from the burger, our table also welcomed mushroom sandwich, veg stroganoff, and cappuccinos.

Classic veggie burger comes with a slice of cheese on a nice juicy patty of minced vegetables and mashed potatoes while the cottage cheese burger comes with a nice and chunky cube of marinated paneer and fried onion rings. Both these burgers come loaded with mayo, coleslaw,  and sliced veggies; all in between the bun. On the sides, both these burgers come in the company of more coleslaw served on a lettuce, French fries and vegetable chunks. What’s also common between the two is; how wonderfully the ingredients blend together to bring in a burst of flavor in every bite.

The classic chicken burger being no different comes with a nice patty of chicken topped with cheese. All other ingredients in between the bun and on the side remain the same as the veggie burger. The burger was awesome. The marinade of spices was perfect; not less nor overpowering in flavor. Unfortunately, no one waited for its picture to be taken. Ruthless carnivores; we must me.

All burgers had a good contrast which made every bite enjoyable. Softness of the patty/paneer in the cottage cheese burger and crunchiness of the onion rings, the spice blend in the patty to the sweetness from the coleslaw.

The mushroom sandwich was a Double Decker sandwich toasted to perfection and generously filled with mildly spiced mushrooms and cheese. The sandwich was plated with slaw, fries and fresh vegetable chunks. I am not a big fan of mushrooms the buzz on our table for this sandwich was – ‘A mushroom lover’s delight.’

The veg. stroganoff was a disappointment. Just by the look of it, the portion of stroganoff was insufficient for the amount of rice served. Being served some additional gravy on the side was not an option as we learnt this dish was pre-plated and sourced from a vendor. The taste of the veg stroganoff failed to excite our palate.

Verdict:
Willy Vannily is definitely a great place to hangout and for sure one we love to visit. Having said this, I must point out, “we do not love everything about Willy Vanilly.” We love the food they serve, but not the service. The service has numerous weak links. To start with, the staff is not very attentive especially when you are seated outdoors. At times, you might actually be required to invite them personally to attend to you. Water is not served here until asked for and when you ask for I recommend you specify the number of glasses of water to be served.  Other issues include, non functional air conditioners, card machines for bill payment, etc. Yet, a place I love to revisit for good food and a casual lunch or dinner with friends.

Parking on week days, especially during lunch or early evenings can be difficult for Willy Vanilly is located in a busy 80 FT road and also does not offer valet parking service.

The food served here is definitely not economical yet not unreasonably expensive. A meal per person here can cost anywhere between Rs 200 to Rs 450.

Quick Tips:
A great place to visit for good burgers and sandwiches and accepting the fact the service may not be up to the mark. 


Address: # 58/A, 80 Feet Road, 5th Block, Koramangala, Bangalore
Phone Number: 080 - 65470742


Friday, 9 November 2012

Richies Rahhams, Bangalore


One evening it was raining cats and dogs, we sat by the window pane enjoying the amazing weather and at the same time deciding on a restaurant to visit for my cousin’s birthday dinner. Non-vegetarian food being the agenda, we chose to pick a restaurant for some delicious biryani. With EID gone by a few months ago, we already missed the biryani, samosas, kababs and other delicacies that were available at the various stalls on MM road put up during the month of Ramzan. 

The mention of MM road in our conversation had 2 of us say in chorus – ‘Richies’. This is how we decided on Richies Rahhams (still known among its fan fraternity as 'Richies') on MM road, a restaurant to which we’d not paid visit in a long time.

Menu:
Menu has an assortment of Indian and Chinese cuisine with focus remaining on the Indian listing. For the vegetarians, there are quite a few options available in both Indian and Chinese. But it is the non-vegetarians who will be totally delighted with the options available in terms of both the variety of dishes and meats on offer. This place going by the menu and prior visits is a meat eater’s paradise.

What we ate:
A look at the menu only made us hungrier. Without looking any further, we called for half a portion of Chandini chicken kabab in starters, brain fry masala accompanied by tandoori rotis, mutton biryani and chicken biryani in non-veg. One of us being vegetarian called for roomali roti and chilly paneer.

Chandini chicken kabab, was a nice tandoor preparation. The chicken was well marinated and flavorful. It was served hot and tasted really good. We just wished it had been a tad bit tender and moist.

The next to feast on for the non-vegetarians was brain fry masala with tandoori rotis. Brain fry masala was a semi gravy preparation with a nice blend of spices. The brust of the spices and pepper was well received by us. This was relished with nice and crisp tandoori rotis.

Biryanis, the most awaited dish of the evening was quick to follow. The mutton biryani was really nice, and full of flavor. The rice was light and non-greasy and the meat was succulent.

I have a large appetite when it comes to biryani or non-vegetarian food. This is how, I happened to dig into some chicken biryani as well which was delicious too. A biryani meal is never complete at Richies without a sweet to follow. On our day, it was muzaffar; a rice based sweet. This is served complimentary with biryani and is the best way to round off a scrumptious meal.

The chilly paneer was totally Indian style Chinese food. It didn’t taste bad; though it is something I would not recommend calling for when you visit Richies.

Verdict:
Our expectations were not high on the service side.  We just looked for good food and prompt service. I must say, the expectations were met. The service was prompt and we had no problems in placing the order or having the food served to us.

Parking and getting to the restaurant can be a bit of a hassle here when it is raining. We were prepared for it. The restaurant does not have the facility for valet parking. However, it is not difficult to find a parking space around here.

The food here is complete value for money. We ended up paying about Rs. 1000 for our meal here which included a couple of non-alcoholic beverages (no liquor served here), a couple of starters, a main course dish, few rotis and 3 biryanis.

Quick Tips:
Do not look for great ambiance. Just go here for good non vegetarian food. You are sure not to be disappointed. 

Biryani being the fastest selling item on the menu at Richies, I’d recommend you to check for its availability before heading there especially if going for a late meal.

Richies branching out from Frazer town now is spread across the city in areas like old airport road, R.T. Nagar, Kammanahalli and the soon to be opened Cunningham road.

Address: 82, MM Road, Frazer Town, Bangalore
Phone Number: 080 - 25808700, 25809700


Thursday, 1 November 2012

Bharawan Da Dhaba, Amritsar


I was in Amritsar for just a day and had just 2 things in my to do list during this visit:
1) Pray (@ Darbar Sahib/golden temple)
2) Eat (@ Bharawan da Dhaba)


In this space, I will share my experience of dining at Bharawan da dhaba.

Being on a family holiday, 8 of us went to Bharawan da Dhaba which is located in the very much accessible - Town Hall area of Amritsar. The restaurant serves only vegetarian food and seems quite familiar because the taxi driver took us right there with just a mention of the Bharawan da dhaba.

The restaurant has a small entrance which was really crowded with people walking in and out of the restaurant. On entering the restaurant, I saw the restaurant's large hall packed with family, couples, and foreigners to full capacity. 

Menu:
Within a few minutes of being seated, we were presented with menu cards. Needless to say, the menu was filled with the rich and tempting Punjabi food options.

What we ate:
Being in Punjab, it is hard not to get tempted to try the paneer, chole and dal makhni. To devour all of this, we decided to call for a special veg thali which also included boondi raita, salad, rice, pickle, papad and 2 lacchha parathas. The paneer, chole and dal makhni were excellent and the portions too were well sufficient for the accompaniments. The lacchha parathas were hot and fresh from the tandoor loaded with butter on top. It was not only delicious to eat but also a delight to watch the paratha with butter smothered over it. Boondi raita was loved so much that we called for additional portions of it.

A meal in Punjab is best accompanied by sweet lassi and the one served here was very nice and refreshing. Unfortunately, I could not get hold of the glass for a picture.

There is nothing better than a sweet ending. My search for a perfect phirni ends here. It was served just the way I always wished to eat it - cold, in a small disposable vessel made of clay, nice thick paste like consistency, garnish of some dry fruits. Perfect! 

Verdict:
Indeed a very satisfying meal.

The service was very nice and polite. In spite of being full house, the service was brisk, food served was fresh and hot. Even better, repeat orders were entertained with a smile. The atmosphere was really nice, comfortable and relaxed with a nice mix of crowd.

An average meal for 2 here which includes a couple of thalis, lassis and dessert is very pocket friendly and will cost anywhere between Rs. 500 to Rs. 700.

Ohh and Yes.. 

The food here was loved so much that one of our meat lover (who planned to eat non-veg for another meal in Amritsar) said, “If I get such amazing vegetarian food to eat, I don’t mind skipping the plan to eat non-vegetarian food in Amritsar.”

Address: Town Hall, Amritsar
Phone Number: 0813 2532575

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Cafe xtasi, Pondicherry


3 friends from Bangalore visited Pondicherry over the weekend and explored the city and hangouts. All we did there was relaxed, eat, and drink... this kept repeating all through the weekend. Going through the city magazine, we discovered Cafe Xtasi and with a little review research headed to this restaurant for a late Sunday lunch.

The cafe just outside its entrance had a wood fired oven by the side. The entrance leads us to this cafe with very simple and basic interiors. The cafe was about 60% occupied which is very good considering it was past 3.30 (odd hours).

Menu
The menu has a wide range of pizza selection for both vegetarians and non-vegetarians. You get o choose from a total of 75 different pizzas. Each listing is well classified into vegetarian and non-vegetarian section on the menu. Their pizzas come in 3 standard sizes (small, medium, large) and 1 jumbo size. At café Xtasi, if ordering a medium, large or jumbo pizza; you are given an option to go for half and half pizza which is a mix 2 pizzas from the menu.

What we ate
We went in for 2 medium pizzas - 1 was veg and another non-veg. With the option available to call for half & half pizza, our vegetarian friend after a lot of confusion (from being spoilt for choice) ordered Half of Vegetate and another half of Panpepp. We non-vegetarians ordered for half CHUKINI and half TANIZZA – both of which had chicken toppings. 

Sorry for the poor image quality. This probably was a result of our hunger.   ;-)
Non - Vegetarian Pizza
Vegetarian Pizza - 1/2 & 1/2

The pizzas arrived in about 15 minutes and were all washed down accompanied by coke in no time by us 3 hungry musketeers. The pizza base was very light and thin. The toppings were really generous and every pizza had a very distinct flavor. Though both (actually 4; if we consider the 1/2 & 1/2 option) the pizzas were fantastic. A special attention grabber was the PANPEPP pizza which had cream drizzled over as one of the topping.

Verdict
By the time we finished, we were so full that we barely had the energy to walk. I can with confidence say that, "Cafe xtasi has served me the finest pizza I have ever eaten." I highly recommend this place for delicious pizzas. For travelers, this is one place you should; by no means miss when in Pondicherry.

Travelers (from outside of Tamil Nadu) may face some concerns with service at restaurants in Pondicherry for the main reason that the staff generally communicate in Tamil and find it difficult to understand another language. So was the case here; when we interacted with the staff. Otherwise, we had no trouble in placing the order and having the order served.

We were on a 2 wheeler and had no difficulty in finding parking space. However, with its location on a very busy road, finding parking for a four wheeler can be a hassle, especially if you happen to visit this place on regular work days.

A medium sized non-vegetarian pizza would cost anywhere around Rs. 550 can be termed as expensive when one considers it is Pondicherry or considering what one pays in Bangalore for wood fired pizzas in a fine dine restaurant. If ignored, the pizzas here are worth every penny shelled out.

Quick Tips
Pizzas are served all day unlike most places in Pondicherry which do not serve lunch post 3 or 3.30 PM.

The toppings on the pizzas are generous. The owner of the café especially recommended not opting for extra cheese as a topping when we requested for it.

And….
Oh yes! I am def. going back to this place when in Pondicherry again and hope to try the jumbo pizza for its sheer size I am currently imagining about.

Address: #2458, Mission Street, (Opp. VOC School),  Pondicherry 605001
Phone Number: 0413 - 4209062, +91 9043023470